Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Voices of Courage Awards Luncheon (TO BE RESCHEDULED)

May 21, 2020 @ 11:45 am - 1:15 pm

We apologize but we have made the decision to reschedule this event due to the COVID-19 virus. We are making plans to host the Training Institute later in the year and will post the new dates as soon as we confirm them.

Every other year at the Voices of Courage Awards Luncheon, WCASA honors the outstanding work of Wisconsin individuals who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to ending sexual violence. The Voices of Courage Awards allow us to recognize the extraordinary work being done throughout Wisconsin. The 2018 awardees received their awards at a luncheon ceremony held in their honor on June 8, 2018, as part of the WCASA 2018 Training Institute at the Kalahari Resort in Wisconsin Dells.

2018 Awardees

Lifetime Achievement: Intended to honor an individual who has dedicated her/his life to ending sexual violence and supporting survivors of sexual violence. Awardee: Deb Donovan, RN, SANE-A, SANE-P, SANE Program Coordinator, Froedtert Hospital and the Medical College of Wisconsin

Advocate of Color: A person of color making a difference in the sexual assault field. Awardee: Benoni Martinez, Bilingual Victim Advocate, UMOS

Campus Catalyst: A college student making a difference in the sexual assault field. Awardee: Ellie McKee, President & Jessica Weber, Vice President, UW-Stout Students for Consent

Community Changemaker: A changemaker who is not from a WCASA sexual assault service provider (SASP) and demonstrates passion for ending sexual violence, but often goes unrecognized and/or uncompensated. Awardee: Sam Collier, Founder, TeamTeal365

Courage: This award is intended to honor an individual survivor – and their courage and dedicated efforts to end sexual violence. Awardee: Michele

Education: Any college or K-12 employee that is championing sexual violence issues at their school, including administrators, teachers, staff / faculty and counselors. Awardee: Chelsea Bongert, Teacher, Wilson Middle School

Generation Next: A young adult/ youth making a difference in the field. Awardee: Kwnwahta Smith, WISE Intern, Wise Women Gathering Place

Prevention: Can include prevention educators and other prevention professionals. Awardee: Tony Gerharz, Health Educator/Head Baseball Coach, Oshkosh West High School

Systems: Can include health care providers / SANE, law enforcement officers, judges, District Attorneys, victim/witness coordinators and corrections. Awardee: Captain Aimee Obregon, Sensitive Crimes Unit, Milwaukee Police Department

Victim/Survivor Advocacy: Can include victim/survivor advocates, sexual assault service providers and volunteers. Awardees: Erin Neilan, SAVS Coordinator, InCourage; Theresa Gregor, Legal Advocate, InCourage; and Fran Beilke, Sexual Assault Victim Advocate, CAP Services

See press release


May 21, 2020
11:45 am - 1:15 pm


Madison Concourse Hotel
1 W Dayton St
Madison, WI 53703 United States
+ Google Map
(800) 356-8293