Trainings

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Sexual Assault Victim Advocacy School (SAVAS) Online

November 9 - November 13

Due to ongoing restrictions in response to COVID-19, WCASA will be offering its Sexual Assault Victim Advocacy School (SAVAS) online. Please note: these are LIVE Zoom sessions. It will be broken up in to individual sessions: conducted Monday thru Thursday, the weeks of October 26th, November 2nd and November 9th (see schedule). We are offering this opportunity to staff of member Sexual Assault Service Providers (SASPs).

SAVAS addresses the basics of being a victim advocate — answering the crisis line, providing individual and systems advocacy and providing outreach in your community. We are adapting sessions and activities to fit the constraints of web-based learning, while striving to provide a similar experience to in-person events. The next in-person SAVAS is tentatively scheduled for January 2021.

Sessions:
Monday, October 26: 1:00-3:30pm – Welcome & Introduction to SAVAS / SA Dynamics
Tuesday, October 27: 1:00-3:30pm – Advocacy / Crisis Intervention
Wednesday, October 28: 1:00-3:30pm – Child & Adolescent Survivors / Role Plays
Thursday, October 29: 1:00-3:30pm – SA Outreach
Monday, November 2: 1:00-3:30pm – Sexual Assault Laws
Tuesday, November 3: 1:00-3:30pm – System Advocacy / Support Groups
Wednesday, November 4: 1:00-3:30pm – Self-Care / Medical Advocacy
Thursday, November 5: 1:00-3:30pm – Legal Advocacy
Monday, November 9: 1:00-3:30pm – Intersection of SV & Racism
Tuesday, November 10: 1:00-3:30pm – Anti-Racism and Advocacy
Wednesday, November 11: 1:00-3:30pm – Working with Diverse Communities & Survivors
Thursday, November 12: 1:00-3:30pm – Aspiring Allyship / Advocates of Color Caucus / SAVAS Wrap-up
Friday, November 13: 1:00-3:30pm – Crime Victim Compensation; Victim Rights & Marsy’s Law; Q&A on Pre-Work Sessions

SAVAS is free of charge for staff of certified Sexual Assault Service Providers

Register at the link below.

Details

Start:
November 9
End:
November 13
Website:
https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/OctNov2020